First, let me say I’m soliciting comments from anyone who might have insight to my character’s problem.

Okay, that may be a bit strong, but one of my characters, Baron Barlucci, has a Twitter account and when he arose from his crypt last found it had been suspended. His crime? Sending “unsolicited” tweets to other twitter accounts. Now you may ask if they were improper, indecent, or just too many of them over and over. I’ve only his word to say no to each of these, but he’s never lied to me before.

It seems recently, in an effort to aid me in my attempt to discover what agents are reading what, he has recently followed several agents, editors and the like. My suspicion is that one of these New York business folk got their ire up at being contacted by a mere character. The baron usually replies with a witty remark on a tweet someone else has posted.

My question is, if the person (and I use that term loosely) who may have found some offense at being ‘tweeted’ on Twitter, why didn’t they simply tweet back a “please don’t tweet me” message. My guess is that they knew how that would look, a word rhyming with ‘itchy’, and thought it would be easier to poison the Baron’s Twitter experience by anonymously. My guess is that they use this spam rule: “If you send large numbers of unsolicited @replies or mentions in an attempt to spam a service or link”. Though he occasionally reference my book and my blog, he does it sparingly so and hey, isn’t the ‘network’ part of social networking?

My belief is that a single user felt they were just too important to be bothered by a fiction character and complained. Now, the baron is contemplating chucking his account.

YOU COMMENTS WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED!

