I’ve decided to allow everyone who visits this page to get a preview of my new novel, tenatively titled

“SHERLOCK HOLMES and the BODY SNATCHER”

.

I’m hoping this will entice Beta Readers, since I didn’t get any replies from my BETA READER post.

I hope you enjoy this:

The canvas topping of the longboat provides little protection from the frigid night air. She drifts into and out of consciousness. During her more lucid moments, she feels the cold stealing away her life. Her hair, dampened by the spray of icy water, stiffens in the wind. The storm tosses her from crest to trough to crest. Abigail strains to see the silhouette of the Animus Lacuna as it tops a wave. Each time it does her spirit sinks a bit more as the flash from the lightning shows it to be even more distant than the time before.

Cold, disheartened, and exhausted, she fights against the relentless onslaught of sleep, knowing it is a sleep from which she might never awaken. Only his promise gives her hope–a promise that now seems as remote as Antonio.

“Can you forgive me?” he’d said as he cradled her in his arms. “I should never have brought you on this journey.”

“Tonietto, don’t. I wanted to come, to be with you.”

“But the ship is lost, the hull breached. I’m not sure how long she’ll hold together. Even with all my strength I can’t protect you, can’t shield you from the storm…and the cold.”

“What will become of us, Tonietto?” tears stream from her eyes.

“Abigail, you know what I am; you know I will survive…” the plaintive tone in his voice chills her more than the night air.

“Yes, yes, I know, Tonietto,” she answers drawing his arms around her even more tightly, frightened by his eyes as much as by the ominous sounds of twisting timber and water rushing into the ship, decks below.

“But there is a way we can still be together.” Always confident, his voice is now more tentative than she has ever heard.

“How? What is it?”

“You must trust me. It won’t be easy for you and you may find it too horrifying to contemplate but it’s the only way.”

“I don’t want to die, Antonio.”

Gently he caresses her face, smiling into her uncomprehending eyes, “I can’t prevent that, but if you trust me, you can survive. We can still be together.”

“But how?” Her eyes plead for an answer.

“Do you trust me?”

